Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

What It Is

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Model II Waiver (MIIW) is part of the Kentucky 1915(c) HCBS Medicaid waiver program. MIIW provides assistance to individuals who use a ventilator for 12 or more hours a day to allow them to live in the community independently as possible. 


  • Private duty nursing (PDN): An MIIW participant may receive up to 16 hours of PDN a day from a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse or respiratory therapist. Participant assessment, ventilator dependency needs and provider staffing determine how many hours of PDN received.


You may qualify for MIIW services if you: 

  • Are ventilator dependent for 12 or more hours a day as defined in 907 KAR 1:022  Section 7(2)(a).
  • Have a permanent tracheostomy for positive pressure ventilation.
  • Require 24-hour a day, high-intensity nursing care services.
  • Have a strong family support system, including a primary and secondary caregiver.
  • Have a primary caregiver who understands the purposes, responsibilities, risks and benefits of home ventilator therapy.
  • Meet the financial qualifications for Medicaid. Special financial qualifications apply to the MIIW program. Read the Medicaid Waiver Services fact Sheet for details. 


If you are interested in applying for MIIW services, you must first obtain financial eligibility for Medicaid. You can apply for Medicaid online using kynect, by calling the Department for Community Based Services (DCBS) at (855) 306-8959 or in-person at a DCBS office. There are some documents that are helpful to have when applying. The Medicaid Waiver Services Fact Sheet lists those documents. 

Once you are ready to apply for the MIIW services​​​​​, you can complete your application online using kynect or in-person at an Aging and Disability Resource Center or a Community Mental Health Center

A registered nurse will help finish the application process by:

  • Completing a MAP-350  form.
  • Collecting a completed MAP-10  form.
  • Conducting an assessment of the applicant using the MAP-351A  form.
  • Completing a person-centered service plan (PCSP) that details the services the applicant needs.

These documents will be submitted to the Department for Medicaid Services to determine if the applicant meets the level of care (LOC) required to receive MIIW services.

Continuing MIIW Services

To continue receiving MIIW services submit a completed MAP-10 every 60 days and have your LOC reassessed every six months.