The Division of Regulated Child Care is responsible for licensing and investigating complaints against licensed child care facilities, certified family child care homes, residential child caring facilities and child placing agencies.
The fee for an initial child care license is $50 with an annual license renewal fee of $25. The fee for an initial certificate for a certified family child care home and a bi-annual certification renewal fee is $10.
Are you interested in opening a licensed child-care facility or certified child care home? Child Care Aware offers a free class to assist potential child care providers in starting their business.Getting Started in Child Care
Providers must access and participate in the National Background Check Program. If you have questions about background checks or are unable to access the KARES application on your Kentucky Online Gateway main screen, please email us. The Division of Child Care will ensure your question is answered. See more information below.
More information is available for those interested in child caring facilities or child placing agencies.
DRCC Branch Offices
DRCC branch offices conduct on-site visits of all Kentucky licensed child care centers and certified family child care homes to determine compliance with applicable regulations. Complaints concerning these centers and certified homes are investigated by branch office staff as well.
DRCC Branch Map
What to look for in a quality child care facility:
Child Care Checklist for Parents
Filing a Complaint
Division of Regulated Child Care Call Center
Call (502) 564-7962, ext. 0
Email CHFS OIG RCC Call Center
Regulatory Violation Concerns
Concerns about a possible regulatory violation in a registered home, certified family child care home, licensed child care center, child-caring facility or child-placing agency may be submitted to the DRCC Call Center. The information will be reviewed and screened to determine if the criteria is met for investigation. The Division only has jurisdiction over those matters governed by statutes and regulations. If you are not certain whether an issue falls under the regulations or statutes, you may call (502) 564-7962, ext. 0 and ask to speak to someone in the DRCC Call Center for assistance with questions and concerns.
Anyone with knowledge or concerns about a suspected violation may file a complaint. It is important to provide as much information as possible, including the name and address of the facility, date and time of events indicated in the complaint, witnesses, details of where the incident occurred (playground, classroom, etc.) and a description of what happened. Although calls may be made anonymously, it is helpful for DRCC to have contact information in the event additional information or clarification is needed. DRCC staff will not provide the facility/child care provider with the name of the reporting source during an investigation.
Reports of unapproved child care may also be submitted to DRCC. The regulations require a person who cares for more than three unrelated children to be certified or licensed. Related is defined in the regulations by the child and provider having one of the following relationships: child, grandchild, niece, nephew, sibling, stepchild or child in legal custody of the provider. Reports of unapproved child care should include the name of the individual(s) providing care, the address where care is provided and a description of the child care situation. For additional information about child care requirements and exemptions, please refer to 922 KAR 2:090 and KRS 199.896.
922 KAR 2:090 / 922 KAR 2:100 lists incidents that licensed child care centers and certified family child care providers must report to the Cabinet or designee. Certain reports must be submitted within 24 hours of time of discovery. The following list highlights some of those required reports. Please refer to the regulations for a full list of required reports.
- Communicable diseases, which also will be reported to the local health department.
- An accident or injury to a child that requires medical care initiated by the child care center or child’s parent.
- An incident involving fire or other emergency, including vehicular accidents when the center is transporting a child receiving child care services.
Additional situations must be reported to the Cabinet or designee within one week. These reports include but are not limited to any resignation, termination or change of director.
Reports may be submitted directly to the DRCC Call Center. Please remember to include the name of the facility/child care home and the license/certificate number on all reports. It is also important to provide the date and time of events referenced in the report, witnesses and a description of what happened.
To report suspected child abuse and neglect call toll-free (877) 597-2331/(877) KYSAFE1 or (800) 752-6200.
Call 911 in case of an emergency.
Amended Immunization Regulation
The Kentucky Department for Public Health recently announced changes to immunization schedules for children attending child day care centers, certified family child care homes, other licensed facilities which care for children, preschool programs and public and private primary and secondary schools.
View the Amended Immunization Schedule
Update Contact Information
To update your email address, telephone number or mailing address, please
email your written request. Remember to include your license or certificate number.
Child Care Aware Health and Safety Coaches and Technical Assistance
Health and safety coaches are available to provide targeted technical assistance to providers to assure compliance with all child care regulations. For assistance completing your corrective action plan, please contact your
local Child Care Aware representative.
Change of Ownership
A license for a child care center cannot be sold or transferred.
Change of ownership requires an initial application to be submitted to DRCC for approval prior to implementation. If a person, association or organization assumes ownership of a child care center without DRCC approval, the child care center is considered to be operating illegally. DRCC may take action against a child care center operating without a license.
Change of Director
A licensee will report to the Cabinet any resignation, termination or change of director. If the director has resigned or been terminated, the licensee must submit the name of an acting or permanent director who satisfies all director requirements within one week. A licensed provider will go no more than one week without declaring an approved director through DRCC.
Change of Director Information
Consumer Product Safety
Please post this at your licensed child care center:
Consumer Product Safety Flyer