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MS 1050 FREQUENTLY USED TERMS (1) 

Several terms are frequently used in connection with SNAP work registration and 
ETP. These items are detailed here and are used without further explanation 
throughout this volume. 

1. ABAWD Able-Bodied Adults Without Dependents

2. DCBS Department for Community Based Services 

3. E&T Employment and Training Program 

4. GED General Education Development 

5. IPV Intentional Program Violation 

6. KTAP Kentucky Transitional Assistance Program 

7. KWP Kentucky Works Program 

8. KYIMS Kentucky Information Management System

9. NAB Nutrition Assistance Branch 

10. OTIS Online Tracking Information System 

11. SSI Supplemental Security Income 

12. SSA Social Security Administration 

13. TAA Trade Adjustment Assistance 

14. UIB Unemployment Insurance Benefits 

15. VES Vocational Education Skills 

16. WEP Work Experience Program 

[17. ERT Employment Readiness Training 

18. IET Integrated Education Training] 

19. WIOA Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act 
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MS 1100                             WORK REGISTRATION OVERVIEW                       (1) 
 
A.  Work registration is a technical eligibility factor for participation in the 

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). Every able-bodied 
household member age 16-59, must agree to work register unless otherwise 
exempt.  

 
B.  Nonexempt members must agree to work register every 12 months at 
       application, recertification, or member add. 

 
Ineligibility of the member or correct discontinuance of the member's case for 
any reason does not void the member's work registration, as the member is 
considered work registered, along with all other household members that are 
required to work register, when the SNAP application is signed. 

 
C.  [Excluded household members are required to register for work unless 

otherwise exempt. This includes ineligible immigrants, members who are 
serving an IPV disqualification or individuals removed from the case for failure 
to provide a verified Social Security number.] 

 
D.  In selected counties, some work registrants are required to participate in work 

activities in order to be eligible for benefits. 



Volume IIA OMTL-511
SNAP Work Requirements R. 6/1/17

MS 1550 WORK REGISTRATION PROCEDURES (1)

A. [At initial application, reapplication, recertification, member add or case
change, determine which household members are required to register for
employment. A member is required to work register every 12 months. Active
members must not be registered more than once in a 12-month period.

By signing the SNAP application, the household is agreeing that all members
without an exemption will agree to work register.]

B. If the household's benefits were incorrectly terminated and a reinstatement is
completed through the case change or application process, DO NOT change the
ORIGINAL work registration date. This includes members who were incorrectly
discontinued and were reinstated per instructions from the Division of Family
Support.
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MS 1555 SNAP WORK REGISTRATION FOR KTAP APPLICANTS (1)

[KTAP recipients are required to register for work. Before a KTAP applicant can be
approved for benefits, he/she must prove that they have registered by providing a
copy of their FOCUS application. KTAP recipients are exempt from registering for
work for SNAP as they have already met the work requirement.

However, if an individual who is applying for SNAP has a pending KTAP application,
the following rules apply:

A. If the mandatory work registrant has a KTAP application pending:

1. Answer "Yes" to indicate that the member agrees to work register; and

2. The work registration status will be Agrees/Pending.

Explain to the household that if the KTAP application is not approved and a
member is not otherwise exempt, that the member will have to agree to register
for work in order to be eligible for SNAP.]

B. When the KTAP application is approved prior to disposal of the SNAP action, the
worker who processed the KTAP application will change the work registration
status from Agrees/Pending to Registered, and he/she will enter a work
registration date. Once this is completed, the member is considered as meeting
the work requirement for KTAP and therefore exempt from registering again in
for SNAP.

C. When the KTAP application is denied prior to the disposal of the SNAP action,
the member will be required to agree to register for work.]

D. When the SNAP application is disposed prior to the KTAP application, process a
case change to update the SNAP member’s information.
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MS 1650 WORK REGISTRATION EXEMPTIONS (1) 
 
Exempt the following household members from work registration. If the exemption 
is questionable require verification.   
 
A. Persons age 17 or under unless: 
 

1. The 16 or 17-year-old is the head of household and does not meet an 
exemption listed in Section I of this manual section below. 

 
If the child's 16th birthday is on the first day of the new certification period, 
do not delay work registration. Work register the member during the last 
month of the current certification period with an effective date of the first 
month of the new certification period.  If the child's 16th birthday is on ANY 
OTHER day of the month, wait until the next scheduled recertification to 
complete work registration. 

 
B. Persons who are 60 years of age or older. 
 
C. Persons who are physically or mentally unable to work. 
 

1. If a mental or physical disability is claimed and the disability is NOT 
evident, verification is required.  Answer “YES” to the gatepost question 
which asks if anyone is incapacitated or unable to work. Request 
verification if not provided. Document the case record concerning the 
verification used to support the member's determination of disability. 
Appropriate verification consists of but is not limited to: 

 
a. Receipt of temporary or permanent disability benefits including SSI or 

SSA; or 
 
b. A statement or form FS-704, Statement of Disability or Incapacity, 

from a physician, a licensed certified psychologist, a chiropractor who 
is licensed by the Kentucky State Board of Chiropractic Examiners, a 
social worker, or a certified, licensed health professional commenting 
on a disability within the realm of his expertise. 

 
       [Disability must be re-verified at recertification. If form FS-704 is 

received and lists the recovery date as “indefinite”, the worker must 
enter the recovery date as the month that recertification is due. For 
example, if the recertification due date is in May 2024, the recovery 
date should be entered as 5/31/2024. DO NOT enter 12/31/9999 as 
the expected recovery date when form FS-704 lists recovery date as 
indefinite.]  

 
2. If a person claims to be physically or mentally unable to work and it is 

obvious to the worker, the worker may make a field determination. The 
worker may use worker discretion when determining an obvious disability.  
Disabilities do not have to be seen to be obvious. 

 
Example: A member has a broken leg.   
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Example: A member has a medical device that would inhibit his/her ability 
to work. 
Example:  It is obvious to the worker that a member is unable to work due 
to a diminished mental capacity.  

 
When a field determination of disability is made, select “Worker 
Observation” as the verification source. 

 
3. A chronically homeless person may be considered physically or mentally 

unable to work if: 
 

a. The person has been continuously homeless for a year or more; and 
 
b. It is obvious to the worker that the person is unable to work. 

 
D. [All adult Kentucky Transitional Assistance Payment (KTAP) recipients. These 

members are required to participate in the Kentucky Works Program (KWP) 
unless otherwise exempt. However, members who apply for SNAP and KTAP 
simultaneously must agree to work register to meet the SNAP requirements. 
This exemption cannot be used to cure a disqualification imposed because the 
member failed to comply with KWP or Unemployment Insurance Benefit (UIB) 
work requirements. 

 
E. A parent or other household member who is ACTUALLY responsible for the 

care of:] 
  

1. A dependent child UNDER six. If the child's sixth birthday falls within a 
certification period, the individual responsible for the care of the child is 
registered for work at the next scheduled recertification; or 

 
2. An incapacitated person. The case record must contain verification from a 

certified medical provider that the incapacitated individual requires care 
from the person seeking the exemption. 

  
Item E. 1 or 2 applies even if the child or incapacitated person is NOT a 
household member in the SNAP case.   
 
Example: John lives with his Aunt Susie and her 4 year. old daughter, 
Kelly. They request and are eligible for separate household status. John 
babysits Kelly while Aunt Susie works full time. John is exempt work 
registration due to care of child under age 6.    

 
[NOTE:  When moving a child out of a SNAP Eligibility Determination Group 
(EDG), workers must first END DATE the primary caregiver status of the 
member who is assigned to that child, before changing the Household 
Status screen to “out of household”. If the record is not end dated prior to 
removal of the child, the system will continue to show the member as being 
exempt from work registration as it considers the member as providing 
care for a child who is not a member in the SNAP EDG.] 
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F. Persons in receipt of UIB or who have applied for but have not yet begun to 
receive UIB. If the member appeals a UIB denial, they remain exempt work 
registration during the appeal process. 

 
G. Persons in receipt of VA based on 100% disability. 

 
H. A regular participant in a substance use disorder (SUD) treatment and 

rehabilitation program.  Regular participation is both determined and verified 
by the center. This exemption also applies to regular participation in Alcoholics 
Anonymous or Narcotics Anonymous. 
 

I. Persons employed or self-employed, including in-kind income, who are working 
a minimum of 30 hours per week or have earnings at least equal to the 
Federal minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours. This includes migrant and 
seasonal farmworkers under contract or similar agreement with an employer 
or crew chief to begin employment within 30 days. 
 

J. [Persons enrolled at least half-time in any recognized school (including high 
school up until age 21), training program, or institution of higher education, if 
the person meets the conditions of being an eligible student. This includes 
immigrants who are participating in training programs approved, funded, or 
authorized by the Office of Refugee Resettlement. This does not include 
members enrolled in a GED, Adult Basic Education, Literacy Program, 
Vocational Education program, or institution of higher education through 
placement by E&T.] 
 
A student remains exempt during normal periods of class attendance, 
vacation, and recess unless the student graduates, is suspended, expelled, 
drops out, or does not intend to register for the next normal school term 
excluding summer school.   
 
Persons who are not enrolled at least half-time or who experience a break in 
their enrollment status due to graduation, expulsion, suspension, who drop 
out, or otherwise do not intend to return to school are NOT considered 
students for the purpose of qualifying for this exemption.   

 
K. Household members who are applying jointly for SSI and SNAP through the 

SSA office have requirements for work registration waived until: 
 

1. They are determined eligible for SSI and thereby become exempt from 
work registration; or 

 
2. They are determined ineligible for SSI and, where appropriate, a 

determination of their work registration status occurs at the next 
certification action. 

 
L. Work registration exemption at application/recertification and member add is 

determined by the system based on how applicable questions are answered. It 
is very important that each member’s information is carefully reviewed at each 
case action that may affect work registration status. 
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M. [Persons who are deemed not eligible to receive a Social Security Number 
(SSN). This includes immigrants who are directed to apply for an SSN to assist 
in determining eligibility for assistance.]   
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MS 1700 LOSS OF EXEMPTION (1)

When a work registration exemption no longer exists do the following:

A. [Individuals who lose work registration exemption status due to any change in
circumstances are required to agree to register for employment at the time the
change is reported.]

B. Recipients who lose work registration exemption may also be subject to
additional work requirements if he/she is an ABAWD. Review each
member’s information screens when work registering the member to ensure
ABAWD status is correctly determined based on system entries.

C. When a change is reported that results in a loss of SNAP work registration
exemption, the member must be work registered according to the following:

1. [If the change in work registration status is reported in person or phone,
by either the household member required to agree to register or by another
member who is willing to agree to register the individual, explain that the
member must only agree to work register and no further action is required.

2. If a household reports a loss of work registration exemption and the
member required to agree to register is unavailable and another member
is unwilling to agree to register the individual:

a. Answer "declines” that the member does not agree to register.
b. The member will be disqualified and a notice will be generated to

inform the member of the disqualification. If the member registers for
work within the 10-day timely notice period, adverse action is
avoided.]



Volume IIA OMTL-386
[SNAP Work Requirements] R. 5/1/11

MS 1705 LOSS OF EXEMPTION FOR 18-YEAR-OLDS (1)

[When a child in a SNAP case turns 18 years old during the certification period,
the member must be work registered as part of the next scheduled
recertification process, unless the member qualifies for another exemption.]
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MS 1750 CHANGE IN EXEMPTION (1)

A. Work registered members who are required to comply with work
requirements, are not subject to those requirements if the member
becomes EXEMPT from work registration, unless K-TAP or UIB
noncompliance is involved. Refer to MS 4500.

B. Members whose change in age exempts them from work registration
requirements are exempted at the household’s next recertification,
unless another change is reported which is subject to reporting
requirements.

http://manuals.chfs.ky.gov/dcbs_manuals/DFS/VOLIIA/VOLIIAMS4500.doc
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MS 2000 ABAWD OVERVIEW (1) 
 
The following provides a general overview of the work requirements for ABAWDs.   
 
A. [ABAWDs are able-bodied individuals between 18-54 years of age who do not 

have a person under age 18 as a member of their SNAP household. For this 
policy, a dependent child is defined as a person under age 18 who is a member 
of the SNAP household. ABAWDs are exempt from these provisions when they 
reach age 54.]   

 
B. ABAWDs may receive benefits for 3 months, consecutive or otherwise within a 

36-month period, if not in compliance with work requirements. ABAWD 
provisions became effective 12/1/96.   

 
C. If the member has been screened as a good fit for the Employment and 

Training Program (E&T), and says yes to participate in E&T, upon disposition, 
the system will send a referral the local E&T Provider. The E&T Provider will 
reach out by mail, phone, text, or email to schedule an appointment and 
complete the E&T assessment. Appointments are scheduled for 5-10 business 
days from disposition date. The demographic information for each individual is 
saved on the E&T case management system regardless of whether the 
member choses to participate in E&T or not in case the member changes their 
mind and contacts the E&T Provider or an E&T Partner to participate later on.   

 
 [If the individual states that they anticipate incurring expenses, the E&T 
provider will issue the initial transportation payment of up to $25. The 
payment will issue once the E&T assessment is completed and the individual 
agrees to participate in the E&T program.] 

 
For expedited approvals with a two-month certification period, the individual 
must begin meeting the 80-hour work requirement in the second month of the 
certification period. For example, if an application is approved for January and 
February, the individual must meet the 80-hour work requirement in February. 
 

D. [The system tracks the compliant and non-compliant (BA) months for 
participants who must meet these requirements. A compliant month is a 
month in which an ABAWD is either exempt as specified in MS 2105 or by 
complying with the requirements as specified in MS 2100. A BA month is a 
month in which an ABAWD is not exempt and not meeting the requirements. 
In addition, an ABAWD can receive bonus months after accumulating 3 BA 
months as specified in MS 2750. Pro-rated months DO NOT count as a BA 
month.] 
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MS 2100 ABAWD WORK REQUIREMENTS (1) 
 
A. ABAWDs must comply with specific eligibility criteria and provide verification if 

required, to maintain eligibility for SNAP benefits. To be eligible, the ABAWD 
must: 
 
1. Be exempt from ABAWD work requirements due to residing in an ABAWD 

waiver county;   
 
2. [Volunteer to participate in the Employment and Training (E&T) program.  

The E&T program provides volunteers the opportunity to find employment, 
training or education in order to increase participants’ chances of finding 
employment. Required verification of participation is tracked and verified by 
an E&T Provider.  For E&T information, refer to MS 3100;] 

 
3. Be working 80 hours per month.  The employment can be working for 

money (this includes self-employment), in-kind work or unpaid (volunteer) 
work, or any combination of these. This would also include when someone 
works for rent instead of paying. The hours of in-kind/unpaid income must 
be verified at each recertification for the prior months in between cert 
periods.  
 

[Example: An individual comes in on May 1, 2023, for recertification. The 
worker must verify the hours of In-kind work for every month since the 
individual was last certified.] 

 
Individuals on strike or on temporary layoff are not considered employed.  
ABAWDs who are on sick leave from a job, whether paid or unpaid, are in 
compliance as long as they continue to be considered an employee of the 
business; or 

 
4. [Participate at least 20 hours per week in a work program funded by the 

Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) or a Transitional 
assistance agreement (TAA). Households are required to report within 10 
days any change in work hours that brings them below the required 20 
hours per week. Participation verification is required.] 

 
B. Non-exempt ABAWDs who fail to comply with the above requirements 

accumulate non-compliant months. An ABAWD can accumulate only 3 non-
compliant months in a 36-month period before becoming ineligible for benefits.  

 
C. ABAWDs are assigned compliant months if exempt from ABAWD provisions or 

in compliance with ABAWD requirements.  
 
D. The following procedures apply to system questions related to determining 

ABAWD eligibility. 
 
1. Verification of ABAWD eligibility questions is optional. If not verified, the 

case does not deny or discontinue solely for lack of this verification. At the 
end of the timely processing timeframe the case will process without this 
verification and any month for which ABAWD eligibility is not established is 
considered a noncompliant month. 
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2. Hours will be systematically converted in order to determine if the member 

is working 80 hours or more/month. 
 
3. When self-employment, farm or earned income is end-dated, review the 

case for ABAWD bonus period eligibility. 
  

E. [Ineligible immigrants are not required to cooperate with ABAWD activities. 
 

F. Eligible immigrants who are NOT eligible to receive a social security number 
are not required to cooperate with ABAWD activities. 

 
G. In all counties, any member between ages 16-59 may volunteer to participate 

in the E&T program. Volunteers not subject to the time limit do not receive 
non-compliant months for failure to participate.] 

 
H. [Individuals who are age 16-17 years should be Head of Households in order 

to participate.]  
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MS 2105 ABAWD EXEMPTIONS (1) 
 
This policy only applies to ABAWD determination and exemptions and DOES NOT 
apply to normal work registration requirements. See MS 1650 for work registration 
exemptions. 
 
A. A SNAP recipient is not an ABAWD or is exempt from ABAWD requirements if 

the member is: 
 

1. Exempt from work registration as specified in MS 1650. 
 
2. [Age 17 and under or age 55 and older. Changes in age which result in a 

change in ABAWD status are handled as outlined in MS 1750.] 
 
3. An adult household member living in a household with members under age 

18 including the spouse of the member.   
 
4. Pregnant.  
 
5. Veteran. 
 
6. Living in a waived county.  
 
7. Homeless. 
 
8. Age 24 years or younger AND were in foster care on their 18th birthday. 

 
Ensure that ABAWD exemption policy is applied correctly by reviewing applicable 
questions on the system for the appropriate response and the Eligibility 
Determination Group (EDG).  Do this prior to disposing all case actions. 
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MS 2250 COMPONENTS (1) 
 
[ABAWD individuals may only participate in the following available components. 
 
A. Workfare:  The goal of this component is to assist participant’s transition from 

unpaid to paid employment.  In addition, it provides on the job experience for 
participants.  Participation is required on a year-round basis to meet ABAWD 
provisions.  Placements are made with public and private non-profit agencies. 
Form FSET-241, Workfare Training Site Agreement, is completed when a 
participant is placed at a workfare site. 
 
1. Workfare participants do not receive wages.  The value of their SNAP 

allotment is worked off in lieu of wages. 
 
3. Each ABAWD individual is responsible for earning his/her own share of the 

SNAP allotment. 
 
4. The minimum monthly number of hours that each Workfare participant is 

required to volunteer shall be determined by:   
 

a. Finding the number of hours required for the household based on the 
allotment chart below; and 

b. Dividing the household’s hour requirement by the number of ABAWD 
individuals subject to the work requirement. 

 
PRO-RATA SHARE OF 
ALLOTMENT 

NUMBER OF HOURS 
REQUIRED TO WORK PER 
MONTH 

$0            through     49            5 hours; 

$50          through     99               10 hours; 

$100        through    149               15 hours; 

$150        through    199              25 hours; 

$200        through    249                30 hours; 

$250        through    299                 35 hours; 

$300        through    349                40 hours; 

 
 

$350        through    399                50 hours; 

$400        through    449                55 hours; 

$450        through    499                65 hours; 

$500        through    549                70 hours; 
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$550        through    599                75 hours;  

$600        through    649 85 hours; 
 

$650        through    699 90 hours; 

$700        through    749 100 hours; 

$750        through    799 105 hours; and 

$800                   and up 110 hours 

                 
          c.  ABAWD individuals who are subject to time limits will have their workfare  

goal hours displayed on the EDG Summary screen. The hours will also 
populate on their activity report.   

 
5. The Workfare component lasts for 12 months; unless the ABAWD individual 

enters another component, becomes otherwise exempt from ABAWD 
requirements or meets ABAWD requirements in another way.  At the end 
of the 12th month, form FSET-241 should be reviewed with the Workfare 
site agency to determine if the agency wants to continue to provide a 
placement for the participant.  If the placement will continue, a new FSET-
241 must be completed.   

 
6.  The Department for Community Based Services (DCBS) carries accident 

insurance on Workfare participants.  Refer to Volume IIIA, MS 4300.  
 
7. DCBS does not pay for a background check on Workfare participants.   

 
B. Vocational Education Skills (VES: This component is offered to build skills that 

lead to full-time employment.  The nature of the training course determines the 
length of participation.  VES is a referral for the Workforce Innovation and 
Opportunity Act (WIOA) related or vocational training courses for ABAWD 
individuals. 

 
1. Participation in a vocational training must be a minimum of 20 hours per 

week.  If the ABAWD individual does not complete 20 hours per week the 
individual is not in compliance.  However, if the ABAWD individual is 
assigned a course for less than 20 hours, the ABAWD individual can partic-
ipate in another component to make up the difference.  The VES component 
can last from 9 to 12 months. 

 
2. ABAWD individuals who select the VES component must participate in 

another component until they actually begin classes.  Once VES is 
completed, the ABAWD individual must again participate in another 
component, unless otherwise exempt or meeting ABAWD requirements. 

 
3. If a WIOA funded training course is not available, the career coach will 

make a direct referral to the vocational training in order for the participant 
to apply for financial aid.  Contact should be made with the local vocational 
training program to determine the deadline for financial aid applications.] 
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4. VES placement procedures are handled by a career coach. 
 
 

C.   Work Experience: This component is subsidy employment with private for profit 
agencies. Participants must complete 20 hours per week or 80 hours per month. 
 
D.  Job Skills Training:  Participants may be enrolled in activities designed to help 
the participants gain occupational skills including work keys, self-guided computer 
assisted learning programs, short courses and post-secondary vocational training as 
long as the client is progressing.  
 
E.  Job Search:  Participants determined to be work ready or prefer job search to 
other components will be referred to this component. The job search component 
requires the participant to make a minimum of 12 of contacts with employers prior 
to being placed in Workfare. This is necessary in order for the month to be 
considered a full month’s participation.   Job Search may also be used in compilation 
another activity if necessary to assist a client in regaining compliance. In an attempt 
to find work, participants will contact potential employers by phone, e-mail, US 
Postal Service, or in person. Participants must record this information and provide 
documentation of each contact.  
 
F.  Job Search Training: Job search training will assist participants in directed job 
search, resume building, and job readiness. 
 
G.  Job Retention Services:  Provided for up to 90 days to participants in SNAP E&T 
that have entered full- or part-time employment. These services can continue even of 
SNAP benefits have been discontinued due to excess income. 
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MS 2300 ABAWD TRACKING (1) 
 
All questions relating to ABAWD policy must be answered accurately and entered 
timely to monitor work requirement compliance. Statistics are accumulated based 
on system entries. 
 
A. ABAWD compliance is internally tracked based on responses to the member's 

information questions. Compliant and non-compliant months are tracked based 
on the data entered for each member. The member will not appear on tracking 
for any month in which the member is ineligible due to not meeting ABAWD 
work requirements as the member will not be active.   

 
B. ABAWD tracking codes are system applied. They are as follows: 
 

1. DC Any Child Under 18; 
2. ER Exempt from Work Registration Requirements; 
3. PG Pregnant; 
4. HR Working 80 hours per month or more;  
5. VN Veteran; 
6. HL Homeless; 
7. FC 24 years or younger AND in foster care on their 18th birthday; 
8. VA Receiving VA unearned income; 
9. EM Subject to Time Limit; 
10. WV Living in a Waived County; and 
11. PM Prorated Month.  

  
C. [An ABAWD tracking code is assigned for every SNAP recipient aged 18-54, 

regardless of the county of residence, each time the case is recalculated. 
These codes are collected when that month's benefits are issued. It may be 
necessary to change the tracking code because of information received at a 
later date.] 
 
When a recipient reports or you otherwise become aware of an ongoing change 
in ABAWD eligibility: 

 
1. Enter the appropriate information for the member on the system.  This 

ensures that the correct tracking code is assigned for future months. 
 
2. Determine when the ABAWD change took place. 

 
a. Review the ABAWD tracking code already system-assigned for that 

time period. 
b. The Field Services Supervisor or Case Manager manually corrects the 

tracking code as needed. 
 

D. After each issuance, a tracking code is accumulated for that benefit month.  
Non-complaint months can be viewed through “Individual Summary”. 

   
To change or add a non-complaint month, select “Manage Work Participation 
Months Tracker” and add the month. 
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MS 2350 CHANGES IN ABAWD STATUS (1) 
 
A. Review all reported household changes for possible impact on ABAWD status.  

Changes which can alter ABAWD status are: 
  
1. Beginning or ending pregnancy; 
 
2. Gained or lost employment; 
 
3. Beginning or ending participation or reducing the number of hours of 

participation in a SNAP E&T component: 
 
4. Change in work registration exemption status; 
 
5. [Change in age, older than 54;] 
 
6. Change in member under age 18 moving in or out of the household; 
 
7. Move to an exempt or non-exempt county; 
 
8. Temporary or permanent disability begins or ends; and  
 
9. Reduction in the number of hours worked to less than 20 weekly. 
 
Changes in ABAWD status must be acted on promptly once they become 
known to the Agency. 
 

B. Process changes which affect ABAWD eligibility as follows: 
 
1. At recertification, review ABAWD requirements with the recipient. Identify 

any changes in ABAWD status, which have occurred since the last 
interview; 

 
2. Enter known and reported changes in the SNAP case and update the 

appropriate questions for the member on the system. This ensures that the 
system assigns the correct tracking code for future months; and 

 
3. Determine the date of the change. 
 

a. Review the ABAWD’s Work Participation Month Tracker screen to 
ensure system-assigned tracking codes are correct for the time period 
in question. 

b. Change the tracking code for noncompliant or compliant months, as 
needed. Only the Field Services Supervisor or Case Manager can 
manually correct the tracking code.  

c. Document the case record for review purposes. 
 

C. ABAWD status codes MUST be corrected for the month the change occurred.  
Status changes can be made anytime for any month during the 36-month 
tracking period. Go to the Individual Summary page for the member and click 
on “Work Participation Month Tracker” to make needed corrections. 
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` 

[Example: An ABAWD reports at March recertification interview that a 13-
year-old child has moved into the household in February. February becomes a 
compliant month and the member is exempt from ABAWD work requirements 
for as long as this situation exists, or until the child turns 18. Access the 
member’s ABAWD months from the Individual Summary page and correct the 
member's tracking code for February.] 
 
If an ABAWD reports an exemption or that they have met requirements but 
the report is made untimely, do not terminate an already established claim. 
For example: 
 
Example #1: Jack did not return his SNET-145 to verify E&T program 
participation in January for the month of December. A claim is established for 
the transportation payment that was issued. Jack comes into the office on 
February 15th and returns his SNET-145 that verified he completed his required 
hours.  DO NOT terminate the already established claim as he did not verify 
his participation timely.  
 
Example #2:  Cathy received her 3rd non-compliant month in December and a 
claim was established for January. Cathy came into the office on February 1st 
to reapply and verifies that she began working on November 2nd and is working 
enough hours to meet her ABAWD requirement. DO NOT terminate the already 
established claim as this report was made untimely. 
 

D. Change in the tracking code which changes a month from a compliant month 
to a non-compliant month may result in member ineligibility. 
 
If the tracking code is the only change and the change does not affect ongoing 
eligibility, the case does not pend for adverse action. However, the case does 
pend for adverse action if an ABAWD becomes ineligible and there are less 
than 10 days left in the month. 
 
Example: At application in 9/21, a member is credited with being employed 
20 hours per week.  In 2/22 at the recertification interview, it is discovered 
that the member was fired in 12/21. He did not work at least 80 hours in 
12/21 and did not otherwise meet ABAWD requirements. When the tracking 
codes for 12/21, 1/22 and 2/22 are corrected to reflect non-compliance, the 
member becomes ineligible for SNAP effective 3/22, unless otherwise exempt. 
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MS 2355 RETURNING ABAWD (1)

[Returning ABAWDs are processed as follows:

A. This involves ABAWDs who:

1. Reapply or are added to a SNAP case;

2. Already have 2 noncompliant (BA) months; and

3. The application/member add month is the third BA.

B. If you have this case situation, the member will be determined an eligible
ABAWD for the application/member add month and removed effective the next
administratively feasible month.]
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MS 2450 OUT OF STATE ABAWD (1) 
 
Do the following for household members subject to ABAWD requirements if they 
received SNAP in another state: 
 
A. Contact the other state(s) concerning the member's ABAWD status.  Any month 

in the last 36 months for which the individual received SNAP must be determined 
as a compliant, noncompliant or bonus month as follows: 
 
1. Send form PAFS-28, Out-of-State Inquiry, or contact the agency by phone;  
 
2. Determine if the applicant received SNAP for any month in the last 36 

months, and was not exempt from ABAWD requirements; 
  
3. Accept the other state's documentation.  It is the responsibility of the other 

state to verify the member's ABAWD status; and 
 
4. Document the case record thoroughly. 
 

B. [Update the ABAWD’s months on the system to reflect the information provided 
by the out-of-state agency.  Go to the Individual Summary page for the member 
and click on “Work Participation Month Tracker” to make updates.] 
 

C. If the other state refuses to supply this information, contact NAB and provide 
the address and phone number of the out-of-state agency. 
 

D. Do not hold the application pending past the 30 day timeframe to verify 
noncompliant months.  Assume compliance and correct the member's tracking 
report when verification is received from the out-of-state agency. 
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MS 2500 PROCEDURES FOR NON-EXEMPT ABAWD (1) 
 
The following are the procedures for when an individual who is a non-exempt 
ABAWD applies for SNAP. 
 
A. [The individual must state whether they wish to volunteer to participate in E&T 

activities at the time of application and when adding additional members to 
the household.]     

  
1. Answer YES or NO to the volunteer question for each appropriate individual.  
 
2. Explain form FSET-101, SNAP Employment and Training Fact Sheet. The 

worker should also explain that the system generates a copy of this form 
and they will receive it via mail.   

 
3. [Explain the ABAWD requirements. If the individual agrees to participate in 

the E&T program, they will receive an appointment for an assessment with 
their local E&T Provider when the case is approved. 

 
4. Explain that individuals who participate in the E&T program are eligible for 

a transportation payment up to $25 based on anticipated expenses. Client 
statement is accepted as verification of the amount. The transportation 
payment is issued by the E&T provider once the individual completes the 
E&T assessment and agrees to participate in the E&T program. 

 
5. Advise the individual that failure to comply with the ABAWD requirements 

will result in ineligibility. 
 

B. If the individual begins working 80 hours or more per month and the worker 
verifies the number of hours, the member will be exempt from ABAWD 
provisions.  When doing this change, the ABAWD questions must be updated 
to show the exemption.   
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MS 2510 TRAINING SITE AGREEMENT PROCEDURES (1)

[Form FSET-241, Workfare Training Site Agreement, is an agreement between our
agency and an agency agreeing to provide a training site for ABAWDS. The agreement
lists the conditions and requirements that the training site agency must agree to,
including maintaining time and attendance records daily on each Workfare
participant. It is the career coach’s responsibility to thoroughly discuss these
conditions and requirements with the representative of the training site to ensure the
site is meeting requirements. An FSET-241 is completed by a career coach to place
a participant in a Workfare site.

A. Complete a FSET-241 when:
1. The placement is initially negotiated.
2. The hours of required participation, end date of agreement, or training

activities change.
3. The agreement ends.

B. Each FSET-241 must contain:
1. The name and address of the training site.
2. The length of the agreement and the number of required hours of

participation.
3. The participant’s name, SSN, address and phone number.
4. Training site agency name and address.
5. Normal functions of training site agency.
6. Name of participant’s immediate supervisor.
7. Agency hours.
8. Beginning date of participation.
9. Participant’s activities.
10. Signature of training site agency representative, participant and DCBS

representative and date of agreement.
11. If a Workfare contract is discontinued: the date of the discontinuance of the

contract, the date the contract was signed, and the reason for
discontinuance.

C. Scan the original form into the electronic case file (ECF) and then give the
original to the training site agency. Give a copy to the client.

D. A FSET-241 MUST be in the ECF for every participant placed in Workfare.]



Volume IIA  OMTL-659 
SNAP Work Requirements  R. 10/1/24 
 
MS 2550 GOOD CAUSE DETERMINATION (1) 
 
[When an individual fails to comply with a work-related requirement, determine if 
the individual has good cause. 
 
Good cause exists when circumstances beyond the individual’s control prevent 
compliance. Good cause can only last 30 days. If good cause is expected to last less 
than 30 days, this short-term status must be re-evaluated at the end of 30 days. If 
after 30 days the individual states circumstances still exist that prevent them from 
complying, review the individual's work registration status for a possible exemption.   
 
Accept the individual’s statement for verification unless questionable. Good cause 
circumstances include but are not limited to the following:  
 
A. Illness or incapacity of the individual; 
 
B. Illness of another household member, requiring the presence of the individual; 
 
C. A household emergency; 
 
D. Unavailability of transportation, with no other readily accessible alternative 

means of transportation; 
 
E. Lack of adequate childcare for children ages 6-12; 
 
F. Inclement weather which prevents the participant from traveling; or 
 
G. Temporary incarceration or court appearance. 
 
 
When an ABAWD has good cause for failure to fulfill the required number of hours 
in a given month, that month is NOT considered a non-compliant (BA) month. 
 
If an individual wishes to claim good cause, they will make this request on their 
participation activity report. After the request is entered by the E&T Provider, a task 
will generate to an E&T worker. If the E&T worker determines that good cause does 
exist, the decision is entered on the individual summary screen by selecting the 
good cause button. This information will then pass back to the E&T Provider 
through the interface to case management system from Worker Portal.] 
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MS 2700 ABAWD NONCOMPLIANCE (1) 
 
A. Non-compliant (BA) months accumulate when the member is NOT meeting 

ABAWD work requirements. Pro-rated months are not counted as a non-
compliant month.   
 
1. ABAWDs who accumulate 3 BA months within a 36-month period are 

ineligible for future benefits unless the member complies or becomes 
exempt from ABAWD requirements.  BA months do not have to be 
consecutive. 

 
2. The system tracks compliant and non-compliant months for all ABAWDs 

who are issued benefits. Manual tracking of these months is not required.   
 
3. At each issuance the system determines the number of BA months an 

ABAWD has at that particular issuance. The system recalculates cases on 
the first workday of the issuance month. ABAWDS who are identified as 
having accumulated 3 BA months are generated a notice of ineligibility. 

            
B. ABAWDs accumulating 3 BA months are:  

 
1. Ineligible household members; 
 
2. [Removed from the SNAP Eligibility Determination Group (EDG) effective 

the following month or discontinued if there are no remaining eligible 
household members;  

 
3. Included in income and resource consideration of the remaining household 

member’s eligibility; income of ineligible ABAWDS is to be pro-rated; 
deductions are to be pro-rated IF the ineligible ABAWD is billed or 
responsible for paying the expense; and] 

 
4. Mailed a notice of ineligibility. 
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MS 2750 ABAWD BONUS MONTHS (1) 
 
[ABAWD BONUS months are 3 additional months of eligibility granted to ABAWD 
individuals with 3 noncompliant months, who regained eligibility by working 80 hours 
in 30 days (paid or unpaid), and reported they are no longer fulfilling the ABAWD 
work requirement. The individual does not need to request these BONUS months as 
the months are issued immediately after the ABAWD individual first reports they are 
no longer meeting the ABAWD work requirement.] 
 
A. BONUS months are ALWAYS consecutive and begin the date the change is re-

ported to the Agency. 
 

B. ABAWD requirements are not applied to the member during BONUS months.  
BONUS months are counted as compliant months.  However, all other SNAP 
eligibility criteria apply. 
 

C. Once BONUS months have expired, the member must again meet ABAWD 
requirements to maintain eligibility, unless otherwise exempt. 
 

D. BONUS months are given only once in any 36-month period. 
 

[Example:  An ABAWD is approved for SNAP from 3/22 through 2/23. The 
ABAWD does not complete any work activity and accumulates 3 noncompliant 
months. Benefits are terminated effective 6/22. The individual worked 80 hours 
in 7/22, reapplied and was approved for benefits ongoing. On 9/10/22, he 
reports he was laid off.  He is eligible for 3 consecutive BONUS months (10/22, 
11/22, and 12/22- 9/22 is a prorated month thus a bonus month does not apply) 
of SNAP with or without meeting ABAWD requirements.  Effective 1/1/23 the 
member must again meet ABAWD requirements or be ineligible for SNAP. 

 
E.     If an individual is due to receive bonus months at the same time a disqualification   

             of any type is being imposed, the individual will lose any months that a 
             disqualification applies based on the disqualification periods.  
 

Example:  Individual is disqualified for 2 months, they could receive benefits 
for their third month. If the disqualification is for 4 months, they would be 
ineligible to receive any of the three additional months. An individual cannot 
receive the three consecutive additional months of benefits more than once in a 
36-month period. After the disqualification is served, the individual could reapply 
for SNAP and if otherwise eligible and following the work program rules could 
receive benefits. 

  
F. Supervisors, Case Managers, and other designated staff enter BONUS months 

into worker portal.] 
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MS 3050 Employment and Training Program OVERVIEW (1) 
 
[The Employment & Training (E&T) Program is an opportunity for SNAP recipients 
aged 16 to 59 to volunteer to participate in allowable E&T activities. This program is 
offered to SNAP recipients statewide and provides opportunities for education and 
training activities to increase participants’ chances of finding employment and self-
sufficiency.  Participating in E&T can also be an option for an ABAWD to meet their 
work requirement.   
 
After the SNAP recipient completes the screening and is deemed a good fit for E&T, 
he/she can choose to volunteer to participate in the program. Upon disposition, a 
referral is sent to the local E&T Provider. The E&T Provider will reach out by mail, 
phone, text, or email to conduct an E&T assessment. Once the assessment is 
complete, the participant is referred/placed into an approved E&T component or 
referred to an approved E&T partner for services. Please refer to MS 3100 for the 
approved components] 
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MS 3100 Employment & Training Program Components (1) 

[Employment & Training (E&T) Program approved components help in reaching 
employment goals and are described in detail below.] 

A. Employment Readiness Training: Intensive programs that include skill
assessment and educational remediation services in order to prepare
individuals for the workforce and employment.

B. Basic Education: Based on the intake assessment and individual goals,
individuals may be referred to basic education activities that include adult basic
and/or foundational skills instruction necessary for the attainment of a
secondary school diploma or equivalent in order to transition to post-secondary
education and training and obtain employment.

C. Integrated Education and Training (IET): IET provides adult education and
literacy activities in conjunction with training for a specific occupation.

D. [Vocational Education: This component builds skills that lead to full-time
employment.  The nature of the training course determines the length of
participation.  Please see the following considerations when using vocational
education for E&T purposes:

1. To qualify, students attending Kentucky Community and Technical College
System (KCTCS) colleges must be enrolled in a program that cannot be
transferred to a 4-year degree program.

2. Participation in a vocational school must be a minimum of 20 hours per
week.  If the ABAWD does not complete 20 hours per week they are not
in compliance.  However, if the ABAWD is assigned a course for less than
20 hours, the ABAWD can participate in another component to make up
the difference.  The vocational education component can last up to 24
months with reviews every 6 months.

3. ABAWDs who select the vocational education component must participate
in another component until they actually begin classes.  Once this
component is completed, the ABAWD must again participate in another
component, unless otherwise exempt or meeting ABAWD requirements.

4. The E&T Provider will make a referral to the vocational school in order for
the participant to apply for enrollment as well as financial aid.

5. Vocational Education placement procedures are handled by E&T Provider
staff.

E. Work Experience: Planned, structured learning experiences that take place in
a workplace for a defined period of time. The work experience  may be
paid or unpaid and may occur in either the private for-profit or the public
sector. Work experience can either be a work activity or a work-based learning
program.]
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F.  Workfare: This component is used as a last resort. The goal of this component 
is to assist in a participant’s transition from unpaid to paid employment while 
providing on the job experience for participants.  Participation is required on a 
year-round basis to meet ABAWD provisions.  Placements are made with public 
and private non-profit agencies. Form FSET-241, Workfare Training Site 
Agreement, is completed when a participant is placed at a workfare site. 
 
1. Workfare participants do not receive wages. The number of hours 

participants are required to work are determined by the value of their 
SNAP allotment. 

 
2. Each ABAWD is responsible for earning his/her own share of the SNAP 

allotment. 
 
3. The minimum monthly number of hours that each Workfare participant is 

required to volunteer shall be determined by:   
 

a. Finding the number of hours required for the household based on 
the allotment chart below; and 
 

  b. Dividing the household’s hour requirement by the number of 
  ABAWDs subject to the work requirement. 

 
PRO-RATA SHARE OF 
ALLOTMENT 

NUMBER OF HOURS 
REQUIRED TO WORK PER MONTH 

$0            through     49            5 hours; 

$50          through     99               10 hours; 

$100        through    149               15 hours; 

$150        through    199              25 hours; 

$200        through    249                30 hours; 

$250        through    299                 35 hours; 

$300        through    349                40 hours; 

$350        through    399                50 hours; 

$400        through    449                55 hours; 

$450        through    499                65 hours; 

$500        through    549                70 hours; 

$550        through    599                75 hours;  

$600        through    649 85 hours; 
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$650        through    699 90 hours; 

$700        through    749 100 hours; 

$750        through    799 105 hours; and 

$800                   and up 110 hours 

                 
 c.   ABAWDS who are subject to the time limit will have their 

workfare goal hours displayed on the EDG Summary screen. 
These hours will also populate on their activity report.  

 
5. The Workfare component lasts for 12 months unless the ABAWD enters 

another component, becomes otherwise exempt from ABAWD 
requirements, or meets ABAWD requirements in another way.  At the end 
of the 12-month period, form FSET-241 should be reviewed with the 
Workfare site agency to determine if the agency wants to continue to 
provide a placement for the participant.  If the placement will continue, a 
new form FSET-241 must be completed.   

 
6.    The Department for Community Based Services (DCBS) carries accident 

insurance on Workfare participants.  Refer to Volume IIIA, MS 4300.  
 
7. DCBS does not pay for a background check on Workfare participants; 

however, the fee can be paid though E&T funding through the E&T 
Providers as an expense.   
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MS 3150 JOB RETENTION SERVICES (1) 

[Individuals who were employed and/or participated in training services through 
the E&T Program, who have secured employment and are no longer participating in 
an E&T component are eligible for job retention services (JRS).  Individuals are 
eligible to receive JRS if they were employed and participating in E&T at the time 
their SNAP case discontinues due to income. JRS includes case management 
services from the E&T provider and transportation payments of up to $25 for 3 
consecutive months once the SNAP case is discontinued. 

1. Job retention services are provided for a minimum of 30 days up to 90 days,
even if the individual is no longer receiving SNAP benefits.

2. These individuals are tracked as E&T participants even if they are not
receiving SNAP benefits.

3. Individuals who volunteer for the E&T program but stop participating are
exited from the program after two months of non-participation and are no
longer eligible for job retention services.]
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MS 3400 REPORTING CHANGES (1) 
 

 

[Changes that impact E&T participation MUST be reported. 
 
The following changes in E&T participation status are automatically processed by the 
system when action is taken on a SNAP case. 

 
1. Participant becomes ineligible; 
 
2. Mandatory registrant becomes exempt; and 
 
3. Address change.] 
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MS 3500 TRANSPORTATION PAYMENT PROCEDURES (1) 
 

 

[Individuals who are participating in the SNAP E&T program are eligible to receive a 
monthly transportation assistance payment up to $25. Transportation payments are 
paid once the SNAP recipient has been determined to be a good fit for E&T, agreed 
to participate, and completes the E&T assessment with the E&T Provider. The 
individual must agree to continue in the E&T program. The E&T provider will 
request the transportation payments. Once the request is received, the system will 
auto-issue transportation payments by mail with a paper check, it is important to 
have a current valid mailing address. After the assessment, the individual will need 
to complete the SNET 145 to request ongoing transportation assistance along with 
form to verify monthly hours.   
Client statement is accepted as verification of transportation expenses. The 
payment is entered through Benefit Management and will not exceed $25 per 
month regardless of the amount the E&T participant spends. A warning banner will 
display when a worker attempts to issue a transportation check for more than $25. 

 
Transportation payments are authorized as follows: 

 
1. SNAP participants who complete the assessment and agree to participate in 

the E&T program ongoing are eligible for up to $25 transportation payment 
based on anticipated expenses.  

  
2. Active E&T participants are eligible to continue to receive ongoing 

transportation payments up to $25 for each month they participate and 
provide documentation.]   

 
NOTE: It is imperative that workers ask individuals who identify as being homeless 
to provide an actual mailing address rather than listing a mailing address to which 
mail cannot reasonably be delivered. Workers must also ensure the mailing address 
is updated for the individual on Worker Portal. 
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MS 3600 AUTHORIZING TRANSPORTATION PAYMENTS (1)

[Transportation payments are issued as long as the member is in compliance and
30 days has to lapse between payments.]



Volume IIA  OMTL-639 
SNAP Work Requirements  R.11/1/23  
 
MS 3900  CURING NONCOMPLIANCE (1) 
 
[An individual who fails to cooperate with ABAWD requirements and loses SNAP 
eligibility, must comply, unless the individual becomes exempt from work registration 
during that period.  
 

A. Once the individual notifies DCBS that they want to be added back into a case 
or has re-applied for SNAP, the individual must comply for 30 days unless they 
become exempt from work registration. This has to occur before eligibility can 
be determined.] 
 
NOTE: If the individual states they are now working enough hours to make 
them exempt from ABAWD requirements, regaining eligibility is based on 
verified anticipated hours. The individual is not required to have worked for 
30 days prior to regaining eligibility. 

 
1. If the individual is exempt from or complying with ABAWD requirements 

consider the noncompliance cured. Process an application if SNAP is 
inactive. If SNAP is active, add the individual to the case.  

 
2. If the individual is not exempt from ABAWD requirements and there is 

active SNAP take the following action: 
 

a. Manually issue form FS-105, Notice of Eligibility or Ineligibility, 
explaining that the individual is ineligible as they have not complied with 
ABAWD work requirements. 

  
b. Explain to the individual what the requirements are and that they need 

to comply for 30 days to be eligible for benefits.  
 

3. If the individual is not exempt from ABAWD requirements and SNAP is    
inactive, take the following action: 
 
a. Start an application on the system; 

 
b. If the ABAWD individual is the only household member, explain to the 

individual that the SNAP application is being denied because they have 
to comply with ABAWD work requirements BEFORE they will be 
approved again. If there are other household members, explain that 
the application will approve if otherwise eligible without the ABAWD 
individual until they comply. 

 
c. Enter comments detailing that the individual came in to apply for SNAP 

and as the ABAWD noncompliance hasn’t been cured yet, the 
application is being denied or the individual is being denied; this has 
been explained and the ABAWD individual understands that they must 
comply for 30 days before an application can be approved or the 
individual can be added back; and it has been explained what options 
the ABAWD has to cure noncompliance and must verify after the 30 
days.   
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d. When the ABAWD individual completes the required activity, and the 
noncompliance has been cured, they may be eligible again assuming 
they meet all other eligibility requirements.  

 
4. If the ABAWD individual fails to cure the noncompliance, the individual   

remains ineligible.  
 

B. If the individual becomes exempt from work registration during noncompliance, 
the procedures are as follows: 

 
1. If SNAP is active, process a member add and change the individual’s 

information screens to reflect the exemption; 
 
2. If SNAP is inactive, process an application; and 
 
3. Document comments. 

 
C. If the individual becomes exempt after noncompliance but before the first 

effective month, the procedures are as follows: 
  

1. Change the individual’s information screens to reflect the exemption; 
 
2. Check the Work Participation Month Tracker on the Individual Summary 

and correct if necessary; and 
  
3. Document comments.  
 
 
 
[NOTE: If an individual who is currently ineligible due to non-compliance  
reapplies and is alleging they are unable to work, take the application and pend   
the case for verification of incapacity/disability.] 
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MS 4205 VOLUNTARY QUIT/REDUCTION (1)
OF WORK HOURS IDENTIFICATION

At application, recertification or case change when the worker becomes aware of a
loss of employment, determine if the member subject to work registration quit a
job. For applications, look back 30 days from the date of application. For active
cases, review for job quits anytime during receipt of benefits.

Voluntary quit does not apply if the member is exempt from work registration
requirements. The SNAP household is allowed to change the work registration
exemption for who is responsible for the care of a dependent child under age 6 at
any time.

Consider reduction of work hours to less than the equivalent of the Federal
minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours per week, the same as voluntary quit. Use
the same good cause criteria for both.

A. To be considered a voluntary quit/reduction of work hours, the employment
must meet the following criteria:

1. Involve 30 hours or more per week or provide earnings equivalent to the
Federal minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours per week; and

2. The quit was without good cause. Refer to MS 4250 for good cause
criteria.

B. Consider employees of a Federal, State or local government who participate in
a strike against such government and are dismissed from the job due to
participation in the strike, to have voluntarily quit a job without good cause.

C. Consider contract employees, who choose not to renew their contract with
terms comparable to those of a previous contract, although it is offered, to
have voluntarily quit a job without good cause.

D. Once a voluntary quit/reduction of work hours is verified, the work related
disqualification is imposed based on system entries.

E. Primary Wage Earner designation has no bearing on identification of voluntary
quit/reduction of work hours.

F. Do NOT consider the following changes in employment status as voluntary
quit:

1. Termination of a self-employment enterprise;

2. Resignation of a job at the request of the employer; or

3. Loss of a job through no fault of their own if the job was obtained to cure
a previous voluntary quit.
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G. Consider refusal to provide sufficient information to allow a determination of
employment status as non-compliance with a work requirement and a
disqualification is imposed for that member.

1. If the statements or information concerning a member’s loss of
employment or reduction in work hours is questionable, request
verification of the questionable information.

2. Assist the member in obtaining the requested information if needed.

3. [If all the information has been received to determine the household’s
ongoing eligibility except the questionable information concerning loss of
employment or reduction of work hours, and that member is required to
register for work, approve the application, recertification, etc., but identify
that the member voluntary quit the job on the Earned Income Details
screen and the system will automatically apply a disqualification for the
member.]

4. If the household provides the information after the disqualification has
been imposed, and this information indicates that a voluntary
quit/reduction of work hours is not appropriate, delete the disqualification
in this situation. The Supervisor or Principal worker can delete the
disqualification. Add the member back to the case the first effective
month, and provide a supplement, if appropriate.

5. While serving an appropriate disqualification, if the member becomes
exempt from work registration requirements, the disqualification period
does not have to be served, and is considered cured. The member is
added back to the case the first effective month. Supplements are not
appropriate if the member ends the disqualification period by becoming
exempt from work registration requirements in the month of the reported
change.

H. Do not delay benefits beyond the normal processing timeframe pending
determination of a voluntary quit.

I. Once a voluntary quit/reduction of work hours disqualification has been
imposed, the member must serve the disqualification period, unless the
member becomes exempt work registration. After the member has served the
disqualification period, he/she DOES NOT have to comply before eligibility can
be redetermined.
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MS 4250 GOOD CAUSE FOR VOLUNTARY QUIT/REDUCTION
OF WORK HOURS (1)

A. Good cause for leaving employment or reduction of work hours includes:

1. Discrimination by an employer based on age, race, sex, disability,
religious beliefs, national origin or political beliefs;

2. Work demands or conditions that render continued employment
unreasonable, such as working without being paid on schedule;

3. Acceptance of employment or enrollment of at least half-time in any
recognized school, training program or institution of higher education,
that requires the member to leave employment or reduce work hours;

4. Resignations by persons under the age of 60 which are recognized by
the employer as retirement;

5. Leaving employment which becomes unsuitable after the acceptance of
such employment. Refer to MS 4300 for further explanation.

6. Acceptance of a bona fide offer of employment of 30 hours per week
or the equivalent of the Federal minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours
per week, and because of circumstances beyond the control of the
member, the employment either does not materialize or results in
employment of less than 30 hours per a week or earnings less than
the Federal minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours per week;

7. [Leaving a job in connection with patterns of employment in which
workers frequently move from one employer to another, such as
migrant farm labor or construction work. Circumstances may include
applying for SNAP between jobs, and work may not yet be available at
the new job site. Although employment at the new site has not
begun, quitting the previous employment is considered good cause if it
is part of the pattern of employment;]

8. Military personnel who choose not to reenlist; or

9. Leaving a paid position of employment pursuant to provisions under
the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) of 1993. This must be
verified by the employer or a certified physician or practitioner.

FMLA requires covered employers to grant up to twelve weeks of
unpaid, job-protected leave to "eligible" employees for certain family
and medical reasons. Upon return from FMLA leave, employees must
be restored to their original or equivalent positions with equivalent
pay, benefits and other employment terms.

10. Lack of adequate childcare for children between ages 6 and 12.

B. Good cause may also include some circumstances as listed in MS 2550.
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C. Verify good cause for voluntary quit, if questionable. The primary
responsibility for providing verification rests with the household. Offer
assistance if the member indicates it is impossible to obtain verification.
When documentary evidence cannot be obtained, substitute a collateral
contact.

1. Acceptable sources of verification include but are not limited to:

a. Previous employer;
b. Employee association;
c. Union representatives;
d. Grievance committees; or
e. Other organizations.

2. If the household and local office are unable to obtain the requested
verification, but the quit resulted from circumstances that for good
reasons cannot be obtained, the household is not denied access to the
program. Document the case for review purposes.
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MS 4300 EVALUATING ACCEPTABLE EMPLOYMENT (1)

A good cause reason for voluntary quit or reduction in work hours can be due to
unsuitable employment conditions. Use the following criteria:

A. Consider employment unsuitable if the wage offered is less than the highest
of the following:

1. The applicable Federal minimum wage;

2. The applicable State minimum wage; or

3. 80% of the Federal minimum wage if neither the Federal nor State
minimum wage is applicable. The Federal or State minimum wage is
not applicable when the following applies:

a. Federal minimum wage - The retail business has less than
$500,000.00 in sales annually;

b. State minimum wage - The retail business has less than
$95,000.00 in sales annually; or

c. Federal or State minimum wage - The member is employed as a
domestic, live in companion, or has odd job income, etc.

B. Consider employment unsuitable if:

1. Offered on a piece-rate basis and the average hourly yield the
employee can reasonably expect to earn is less than the applicable
minimum wage;

2. The member is required to join, resign from or refrain from joining any
legitimate labor organization as a condition of employment; or

3. Work offered is at a site subject to a strike or lockout at the time of
the offer, unless the strike has been enjoined under Section 208 of the
Labor Management Relations Act (Taft-Hartley Act) or Section 10 of
the Railway Labor Act.

Eligible strikers are subject to regular work registration procedures. If
the strike is enjoined under Section 208 of the Labor-Management
Relations Act (Taft-Hartley Act) or if an injunction is issued under
Section 10 of the Railway Labor Act and the striker refuses to return to
work, the striker has failed to comply with the requirement of
acceptance of suitable employment.

C. Consider employment unsuitable if the household member involved can
demonstrate or the worker otherwise becomes aware that:

1. The degree of risk to health and safety is unreasonable;
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2. The member is physically or mentally unfit to perform the
employment. This must be documented by medical evidence or by
reliable information from other sources;

3. The employment offered within the first 30 calendar days of
registration is not in the member's major field of experience;

4. The distance from the member's home to the place of employment is
unreasonable considering the expected wage and the time and cost of
commuting;

5. Daily commuting time exceeds two hours per day, not including
transporting a child to and from a child care facility;

6. The distance to the place of employment prohibits walking and neither
public nor private transportation is available to transport the member
to the job site; or

7. The working hours or nature of the employment interferes with the
member's religious observances, convictions, or beliefs.
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MS 4350 NONCOMPLIANCE WITH OTHER WORK PROGRAMS (1)

If a SNAP member fails to comply with another program’s work requirements, a
disqualification is imposed for the noncompliant SNAP member. The disqualification
will be system imposed based on the action taken in the other program. The
member must be in receipt of SNAP at the time the noncompliance occurred, for
this to apply.

The other programs include, but are not limited to the following:

1. KWP (KTAP work requirement); and

2. UIB.

If noncompliance occurs, notification can be received by any of the following
methods:

1. [System imposed disqualification; or

2. UIB verification including Program 4B, UIB worker contact or information
provided by the member.

The types of disqualifications to impose are as follows:

1. Noncompliance with other PGRM (25 % reduction); or

2. KWP/UIB Sanction/Refuse Job Offer (member removed).

A. A disqualification is imposed for member’s who are exempt work registration,
other than for the receipt of KTAP.

EXAMPLE: Mother, age 42 and one child age 4. Mother fails to comply with
KWP in a KTAP case. A disqualification is imposed in the KTAP case, which
imposes a 25 % reduction in the SNAP case.

B. A disqualification is imposed for members who are exempt work registration,
based solely on the receipt of KTAP.

EXAMPLE: Mother, age 42 and one child age 14. Mother fails to comply with

KWP in a KTAP case. A disqualification is imposed in the KTAP case, which
imposes a disqualification in the SNAP case.

C. A disqualification is imposed for members who are exempt work registration,
based solely on a pending UIB application or the receipt of UIB.]

EXAMPLE 1: Mother, age 42 and one child age 14. Mother is in receipt of UIB
and fails to comply with job search required by UIB. This can be verified by
Program 4B, UIB worker contact or information provided by the member.

EXAMPLE 2: Mother, age 42 and one child age 14. Mother applies for UIB and
is subsequently denied; the reason for denial is job quit, refusal to accept a job
offer or noncompliance with UIB. This can be verified by Program 4B, UIB worker
contact or information provided by the member.
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[Members currently serving a disqualification due to noncompliance with another
program must comply with the requirements of the other program, regardless of
work registration exemption.

Once requirements of the other program are met, verification of compliance occurs
by any of the following methods:

1. A system imposed action; or

2. UIB verification.

If the SNAP case is discontinued after the disqualification is imposed, the
disqualification would still apply at reapplication if the KTAP noncompliance is still in
effect.

Document comments concerning any disqualifications.]
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MS 4450 IMPOSING WORK-RELATED DISQUALIFICATIONS (1)

A. Impose the appropriate work related disqualification once noncompliance is
verified. Imposing a work related disqualification has the following effect on
the member:

1. The disqualification begins the month the adverse notice is effective;

2. Only the member is disqualified, and the disqualification follows the
member;

3. The member’s income and resources continue to count toward the
remaining household members; and

4. [A notice is generated to the household explaining the number of months
disqualified, how it affects the benefits, the right to a hearing, and
requirements to reapply once the disqualification period ends.

B. If the household requests a hearing after being disqualified, the member may
request that benefits be continued. See Volume I, MS 0490.]

If the Agency is affirmed as a result of the hearing, the disqualification is
imposed prospectively (ongoing), and a claim is not filed for the months
benefits were continued.

If the disqualification cannot be imposed prospectively, a claim is appropriate
for benefits received while the hearing decision was pending. The reasons a
disqualification would not be imposed prospectively may include the member’s
SNAP eligibility was not continued for other reasons, or the member may be
exempt from work registration.

C. An agency error claim exists if a disqualification is not imposed TIMELY due to
the agency's delay and the member becomes exempt work registration prior to
imposing the disqualification.

D. Disqualifications are imposed regardless of the active or inactive status of the
case or county. The member must have been in receipt of benefits at the time
the noncompliance occurred to impose the disqualification.

E. Separate work related disqualifications are NOT imposed simultaneously. Each
disqualification must first be served and then cured, and eligibility
reestablished before another disqualification can be imposed.

F. Document comments regarding the circumstances of all work related
disqualifications.
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MS 4500 ENDING WORK-RELATED DISQUALIFICATIONS (1)

A. [For the following work related disqualifications, the member must first serve
the mandatory disqualification period and then establish compliance, prior to
reestablishing eligibility, unless the member becomes exempt from work
registration. To establish compliance, the member must agree to work
register.

B. For a voluntary quit/reduction of work hours disqualification, the member must
first serve the mandatory disqualification period prior to reestablishing
eligibility, unless the member becomes exempt from work registration. A
disqualification does not require the member to comply prior to re-establishing
eligibility. Once the disqualification period is served, the member can reapply
or a member add can be completed.

C. For a KWP or UIB disqualification, the member must comply with the KWP or
UIB requirement which caused the SNAP disqualification, in order to establish
compliance with the SNAP work requirements. The entire disqualification
period does not have to be served once the member complies with the other
program. Ensure the member is shown as having a UIB Claim pending to
exempt the member from work registration.

The disqualification period must be served unless the member becomes
exempt work registration. If the member becomes exempt for a reason other
than complying with the other program, the disqualification still applies as
we do not increase SNAP benefits due to a decrease in KTAP benefits that is
caused by noncompliance.

D. After the disqualification period is served the member can reapply for benefits
or a member add can be completed. Add the member to an active case
effective the month following compliance. Supplemental benefits are only
issued for the month of CURE if the disqualification is not acted on timely or it
is after cut-off. Supplementals are NOT issued if the member ended the
disqualification by becoming exempt from work registration requirements.

E. Except for voluntary quit/reduction of work hours disqualifications, if the
member does not comply, the disqualification is not considered cured.

The member remains ineligible ongoing until compliance is established.
Document comments concerning the member's status at any subsequent
application, recertification, or member add.

F. If the member is currently serving a work related disqualification, other than a
KWP or UIB disqualification, and becomes exempt, do the following:

1. Verify the exemption, if questionable;

2. Cure the disqualification;

3. Process an application or member add as appropriate.
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G. Discontinuance of the KTAP case cures the FS disqualification.

H. The member is responsible for contacting the local office to reapply for benefits
after the disqualification period ends.

I. DO NOT DELETE THE DISQUALIFICATIONS, unless otherwise advised, even if
the member becomes exempt work registration. Disqualifications remain on
the system in order to track occurrences, regardless of the active or inactive
status of the case or county.

J. Document comments concerning actions taken on all work related
disqualifications.]
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MS 4550 PENALTIES FOR NONCOMPLIANCE (1)

Failure to comply with work requirements result in SNAP disqualification for the
noncompliant member.

Work related disqualifications for noncompliance are for a specified time, depending
on the occurrence. Once imposed appropriately disqualifications are NOT DELETED,
unless otherwise advised. Disqualifications can limit a member’s participation in a
particular program or prevent the member from receiving benefits.

A. Work-related disqualifications are tracked by the system for multiple
occurrences.

B. Disqualifications imposed based on system entries:

1. [Fail/decline to Work Register; and

2. Voluntary Quit/Reduced Hours, or refusal to provide sufficient information
to allow a determination of employment status.

These disqualifications result in the member(s) ineligibility based on the
occurrence. (Please refer to item D below).

C. Disqualifications imposed based on system imposed information:

KWP/UIB Sanction/Refuse Job Offer- If the member is not complying with
KWP, and is exempt from work registration ONLY because of KWP
participation, a work related disqualification is imposed on the member. If
the member is otherwise exempt from work registration, then a work
related disqualification is not appropriate. In this situation, a non-
compliance with other programs disqualification is imposed, as per
Volume II, MS 2370.

Failure to cooperate with program requirements of KTAP or UI will result
in a 25% reduction in SNAP benefits as well as the member(s) ineligibility
based on the occurrence. (Please refer to item D below).

D. Penalties are as follows:

1. 1st violation = 2 months;

2. 2nd violation = 4 months; and

3. 3rd and subsequent violations = 6 months.
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MS 4800 MOVE FROM COUNTY TO COUNTY (1) 
 
A. [When a SNAP recipient moves from an inactive ABAWD county to an active 

ABAWD county, once the worker changes the address and runs eligibility,  
form FSET-101 will auto generate and an appointment for assessment will be 
auto scheduled. 

 
B. When an ABAWD moves from an active ABAWD county to an inactive ABAWD 

county, once the address/county is changed E&T activity will stop.  
 

If it is later discovered, after the address/county code is changed, that 
transportation had not been issued, forward the payment information to the 
Nutrition Assistance Branch for manual processing. This should be a rare 
occurrence. 
 
If the member is ineligible due to receipt of 3 non-compliant (BA) months, 
process an application or member add, as appropriate. 
 
Moving to an inactive ABAWD county does not exempt the member from work 
registration requirements or prevent non-compliance.] 
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MS 4850 [REINSTATING AFTER ERRONEOUS ABAWD DISQUALIFICATION]  (1) 
 
If a disqualification has been imposed erroneously, delete the disqualification, 
reinstate the case and/or add the member and restore benefits as necessary. A 
reapplication or member add must be completed on the disqualified member using 
previous verification and the old work registration date.  Document comments for 
review purposes.  
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