Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (Banner Imagery) - Go to home page

Health and Family Services Cabinet
Food Benefits Still Available for Residents of 21 Counties Affected by Storms; Application deadline for most counties is Friday, March 23

Press Release Date:  Thursday, March 22, 2012  
Contact Information:  Media Contact: Anya Armes Weber, (502) 564-6786, ext. 3104; or Jill Midkiff, (502) 564-7042, ext. 3429  

FRANKFORT, Ky. (March 20, 2012) – The Cabinet for Health and Family Services (CHFS) reminds Kentuckians living and working in areas affected by recent tornadoes and severe weather that they may still apply for federal disaster food benefits this week.

The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Food and Nutrition Service (FNS), is providing resources to purchase food for residents of 21 counties that are part of a federal disaster declaration from the February 29 and March 2 storms. People who work in these counties and have lost income may also apply.

SNAP is formerly known as food stamps. CHFS’s Department of Community Based Services administers the program in all 120 Kentucky counties.

The 21 counties eligible for federal disaster food benefits are Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Grayson, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Rowan, Russell, Trimble and Wolfe.

DCBS Acting Commissioner Teresa James said that the federal SNAP assistance is available to help Kentuckians coping with loss.

“We want to make sure the word is getting out about these benefits,” James said. “We know people have been busy settling into temporary shelters and recovering what they can. But it’s important for those who qualify to apply for and take advantage of these benefits.”

Current food benefits customers
Households in the affected counties that are currently receiving SNAP and report a loss of food or incur other losses because of the storms may receive additional food benefits. Household members should contact their local DCBS offices, which are listed below.

One-time disaster food benefits
Residents who live or work in the affected counties and do not currently participate in the regular SNAP program or are not eligible for food benefits under the normal SNAP eligibility guidelines may apply for temporary help with food costs. To be eligible, the household must have:
• Experienced damage to or destruction of their home or self-owned business;
• Disaster-related expenses not expected to be reimbursed in March;
• A reduction, termination or delay in receiving income; or
• No access to liquid financial assets, such as checking or savings accounts. 
The household’s income and accessible resources received in the month of the disaster will be counted in determining eligibility for the food benefits.  These are one-time benefits based on the household’s size.

How to apply
Applicants must bring proper personal identification and verification of residency. It is also recommended, if possible, that applicants bring proof of Social Security numbers for all household members; take home pay and income received in the month the disaster caused losses; accessible resources like savings and checking accounts and cash on hand; and statements to verify disaster-related expenses.

The DCBS offices in the following counties will accept applications through Friday, March 23. Regular office hours are 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Additionally, the DCBS offices in Grayson, Larue, Ohio, Russell and Trimble counties will accept applications from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on Monday, March 26.

Residents should contact their local office for more information.

Families who have lost income and live or work in the disaster counties can apply in the following locations:

Bath County: 47 Cedar Creek, P.O. Box 7, Owingsville, Ky. 40360. Phone: (606) 674-6344
Campbell County: Watertower Square, Fourth Floor, 601 Washington Ave. Newport, Ky. 41071.
Phone: (859) 292-6700
Carroll County: 1720 Highland Ave., P.O. Box 368, Carrollton, Ky. 41008. Phone: (502) 732-4271
Grant County: 120 N. Main St. Williamstown, Ky. 41097. Phone: (859) 824-5202
Grayson County: 100 McCubbin Blvd., P.O. Box 4280, Leitchfield, Ky. 42755. Phone: (270) 259-4041
Johnson County: 205 Main St., Suite 1, Paintsville, Ky. 41240. Phone: (606) 788-7118
Kenton County: 20 E. Seventh St., 3rd Floor, Covington, Ky. 41011. Phone: (859) 292-6600
Laurel County: 31 South Laurel Road, London, Ky. 40744. Phone: (606) 330-2025
Larue County: 105 Howard St., Hodgenville, Ky. 42748-0169. Phone: (270) 358-3176
Lawrence County: 180 Bulldog Lane, Suite 1, Louisa, Ky. 41230. Phone: (606) 638-4526
Magoffin County: 125 S. Church St., Salyersville, Ky. 41465. Phone: (606) 349-6131
Martin County: 104 E. Main St., Suite 200, P.O. Box 408, Inez, Ky. 41224. Phone: (606) 298-3577
Menifee County: 784A Hwy. 36, P.O. Box 50, Frenchburg, Ky. 40322. Phone: (606) 768-2118
Montgomery County: 108 E. Locust St., P.O. Box 219, Mount Sterling, Ky. 40353. Phone: (859) 498-5398
Morgan County: 87 Redwine Road (Former Wrigley Elementary), West Liberty, Ky. 41472. Phone: (606) 495-8588 or (606) 495-8590.
Ohio County: 947 W. 7th St., Beaver Dam, Ky. 42320. Phone:  (270) 274-8201 
Pedleton County: 500 Market St., Falmouth, Ky. 41040. Phone: (859) 654-6123
Rowan County: 511 Hecks Plaza Dr., P.O. Box 886, Morehead, Ky. 40351. Phone: (606) 783-8535
Russell County: 100 S. Main St., Bates Bldg. P.O. Box 770, Jamestown, Ky. 42629-0770. Phone: (270) 343-3196
Trimble County: 37 Alexander Ave., Bedford Professional Building, Bedford, Ky. 40006. Phone: (502) 255-3278
Wolfe County: 330 Main St., Campton, Ky. 41301. Phone: (606) 668-3175

Penalties for fraud
It is illegal to sell, trade or give away SNAP and disaster SNAP electronic benefits cards. Households that deliberately withhold or misrepresent information and receive benefits for which they are not entitled will be required to pay them back. Households who commit fraud may be disqualified from receiving SNAP benefits, fined up to $250,000, and/or incarcerated.


– 30 –


Last Updated 3/22/2012