Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (Banner Imagery) - Go to home page

Health and Family Services Cabinet
First Lady Honors Volunteer Awards Winners

Press Release Date:  Friday, May 09, 2008  
Contact Information:  Media contact: Lisa Wallace, (502) 564-6786, ext. 4013  

FRANKFORT, Ky. (May 9, 2008) -- The Kentucky Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service (KCCVS) in the Cabinet for Health and Family Services (CHFS) today announced the winners of the 2007 Governor’s Volunteer Awards. First Lady Jane Beshear presented the awards at an evening ceremony at the state Capitol in Frankfort.

A panel of judges with volunteer and community service backgrounds chose 17 winners in 15 categories. Four additional special awards also were presented.

“Volunteers add tremendous value to the lives they touch and the communities they serve,” Mrs. Beshear said. “I want to thank you all for the difference you make and the example you set by carrying on one of Kentucky’s most cherished traditions, lending a hand to a neighbor in need.”

The Governor’s Office launched the volunteer awards program in 1975. Since 1995, KCCVS has administered the program. 

Garnett Fairchild of Prestonsburg and Robley Rex of Louisville received Lifetime Achievement Awards.

A list of award winners and their nominators follows (Editors/producers - award category descriptions and summaries of winning nominations are available by calling Lisa Wallace at (502) 564-6786, ext. 4013):

Governor’s Awards for Outstanding Volunteer Service

Business Group Award
Borders and Borders, PLC
Louisville/Jefferson County
Nominated by Rob Locke

Challenge Adult Award
Chuck Thompson - Paducah/McCracken County
Nominated by Representative Fred Nesler

Challenge Youth Award
Rebecca Croucher - Berea/Madison County
Nominated by Paula Strunk

Director of Volunteers Award
Sister Kathleen Weigand, OSB - David/Floyd County
Nominated by Joyce Mitchel

Faith-Based Group Award
Kentucky Changers - Monticello/Wayne County
Nominated by Penny Thompson

Faith-Based Individual Award
Deborah Luedke - Owensboro/Daviess County
Nominated by April Dickens

Impact Adult Award
Marilyn McLendon - Louisville/Jefferson County
Nominated by Jennifer Clark

Impact Youth Award
Alexandra “Alex” Jenkins - Cadiz/Trigg County
Nominated by Brenda Southwick

Innovation Adult Award
Amy Garon Benovitz - Louisville/Jefferson County
Nominated by Farrah Ferriell

Innovation Youth Award
Glenn L. Means III - Mt. Sterling/Montgomery County
Nominated by Donna Wilson

National Service Group Award
Audubon Area Senior Campanion Program - Owensboro/Daviess County
Nominated by Robyn Mattingly

National Service Individual Award
Marian Dunville - Owensboro/Daviess County
Nominated by Cathy Campbell

Non-Profit Group Award
Lewisburg North Logan Historical Commission - Lewisburg/Logan County
Nominated by Mayor Kenneth Whitson

Non-Profit Group Award
St. Anthony's Hospice Volunteers - Henderson/Henderson County
Nominated by Darrell Monroe

Volunteer Support Award
Volunteers in Action - Bowling Green/Warren County
Nominated by Anne Grubbs

Lifetime Achievement Award
Garnett Fairchild - Prestonsburg/Floyd County
Nominated by Melissa Vance

Lifetime Achievement Award
Robley H. Rex - Louisville/Jefferson County
Nominated by Marian Gosling


Special Awards

Make A Difference Day Traveling Award (Department for Community Based Services Region)
Two Rivers Service Region

Make A Difference Day Traveling Award (AmeriCorps Program)
The Learning Corps - Owensboro/Daviess County

Kentucky Ambassador Award
Robert Merriam - Owensboro/Daviess County

Special Citation
Michala Riggle - Louisville/Jefferson County



Last Updated 5/9/2008